Crofton Fire Department members elected Matt Ludvigson as chief for a three-year term. (Photo by Don Bodger)

Ludvigson Crofton’s new fire chief

Protection Officer duties with Catalyst complement role for 15-year firefighting veteran

Matt Ludvigson is the new chief of the Crofton Fire Department following elections Nov. 12.

Ludvigson, 41, has lived in Crofton for 16 years and been with the fire department for 15. He takes over the post from Ken Rukus.

“After 15 years, I still have a lot to learn,” Ludvigson indicated.

He spent five years as training officer, training to the National Fire Protection Association 1001 level. “Now all four North Cowichan halls are on board and doing this program,” Ludvigson noted. “

“This is the next challenge for me,” he added of becoming chief.

Ludvigson works as a Protection Officer at the Catalyst pulp and paper mill in Crofton so his job skills readily translate into the duties required of the chief.

Besides the training program, Ludvigson said other recent developments at Crofton include the acquisition of a new boat in September.

“We’re in the beginning stages of the emergency boat operation and swift water rescue,” he pointed out.

Emergency incidents are obviously rare, but proper preparation is a necessity just in case.

“You use it once a year, you’d better be good at it,” Ludvigson conceded.

The department is always on the lookout for new members and recently added a couple of more who were due to start Wednesday. “Both guys seem pretty upbeat and ready to go,” noted Ludvigson.

He said there’s still room for three more in the department. Chemainus has also been seeking additional firefighters while Maple Bay and the South End are full.

Ludvigson doesn’t see a huge adjustment in directing the combination of older and younger members in the department.

“These guys manage themselves for the most part,” he pointed out. “Everybody knows what they’re supposed to do. You just need a figurehead for it.”

Joe Bailey remains as deputy chief, as his position was not up for election. The four captains elected by the membership include: Lee Burridge, Zach DeLure, Rick Smith and Jon Ward.

Just Posted

Community pride prevalent in Sports Wall of Fame inductions

Class of 2019 members bring out many emotions, memories

Chemainus volleyball teams disappointed with final results

Cougars can still take great pride in their improvement at the senior and junior levels

Osborne Bay Pub fans’ love affair with Daponte knows no bounds

Entertainer always brings joy to her Crofton audience

Updated – Firefighters contain Chilco Road garage fire in Crofton

About 15 Crofton and Chemainus Fire Department members on the scene

Board of Education returns Spilsbury as board chair

Executive member votes conducted every year within trustees’ four-year terms

Bye bye Bei Bei: Giant panda born in U.S. zoo heads to China

Panda heads back to China as part of cooperative breeding program

B.C. to advocate for frustrated, confused, unhappy cellphone users, says premier

Maple Ridge New Democrat Bob D’Eith to advocate for more affordable and transparent cellphone options

B.C. man who killed Belgian tourist near Boston Bar gets life in prison, no parole until 2042

Sean McKenzie pleaded guilty to second-degree murder of 28-year-old Amelie Christelle Sakkalis

Salvation Army kettle campaign targets $200,000 for Island residents in need

Goal is to raise $250,000 this year for Vancouver Island residents needing support

‘Very disrespectful’: B.C. first responder irked by motorists recording collisions on cellphones

Central Cariboo Search and Rescue deputy chief challenges motorists to break the habit

Daily cannabis linked to reduction in opioid use: B.C. researchers

Researchers looked at a group of 1,152 people in Vancouver who reported substance use and chronic pain

Port Alberni rallies for mill workers

Fundraisers helping ease the sting of five months without work

Island student lobbies school board for dress code consistency

Jaylene Kuo contacted school trustees after seeing dress guidelines at brother’s school

Most Read