In 1917, a school was built on Pine Street between Willow and Cedar.
It operated for 21 years until an expanding population demanded a larger facility. Students wishing to continue past Grade 10 had to travel to Ladysmith.
The Chemainus Valley Museum contains many interesting displays and stories about the area’s rich history.
The museum is located at 9799 Waterwheel Cres. in downtown Chemainus. It’s open seven days a week in October from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m.